Gluten Free Granola

I’ve been making this recipe for several months now and have made the mistake, I mean I have graciously, (LOL) been sharing with all my friends and family.  I have even sold it at a market that I participated in. My pastor seems to request it every time he sees me too…..

DSC_0231

Before making my own granola, I was buying Kind or Larabar bars.  Those are really good and have all the ingredients that are healthy for me, but I still felt like I should be making my own.  I do keep the Kind bars on hand for a go to quick snack for my diabetic son.

DSC_0292DSC_0291

What’s different about this recipe is that it’s no-bake and they taste amazing!  You can easily substitute the GF oats for just regular ‘ol oats if you want.

10555343_10203804729552643_1772702983_o

 

Here’s a few pics of more with my professional look (I love my job!)

DSC_0997cw DSC_0998cw

No-Bake Gluten Free Granola Bars

By Wendy Walker

 

1 ¾ cups of Gluten Free Oats

½ cup of raw pumpkin seeds

½ cup of raw almonds

1/8 cup of chia seeds & flax seeds

4 tbsp of Hemp seeds

1/3 cup of Raw Honey

1/3 cup of coconut sugar

Salt (adjust according to your liking)

1/3 cup of peanut butter (optional)

Vanilla extract (just splash, or whatever you like. I use about 2 tsp as I love vanilla)

½ cup of chocolate (you can use chips or just rough chop a block – milk, dark, cacao, etc.)

 

Directions:

 

Soak the almonds overnight in water and add a little salt.

Cut parchment paper to fit a 9×13 or the medium size pampered chef pan.

Toast pumpkin seeds at 250◦ for 20 minutes.  Once that is done, chop them real fine along with the flax seeds.  I use my pampered chef food chopper.

Combine oats, toasted pumpkin seeds, chia, hemp, almonds in a bowl.  In a saucepan, mix honey, sugar and salt.  Stir until it comes to a boil.  Remove from heat and stir in peanut butter and vanilla.  Pour the mixture over your dry ingredients and mix well.

Let cool for about 10 minutes and then add the chocolate.  Spread the mixture on the parchment lined pan and press down.  Cover with a towel for a few hours.  Cut and enjoy!  They make about 12-15 bars.  You can also break the pieces up and use it as just granola as a topping for yogurt or pour milk on it and eat like cereal.

*You can use regular oats if you like.

I buy my seeds in bulk at Hoover’s in Altamonte.  They are all organic and raw.  I’m sure you can find them at Sprout’s or Health Basket if you are local.   I figured the cost out to be $1.00 per bar.  I’m sure you can get the cost down cheaper if you don’t use organic.  You could also bake this, but you receive more health benefits when they are raw and alive!

Enjoy!

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Granola

  1. Ema Jones August 27, 2014 at 3:22 am Reply

    Can I use maple syrup instead of honey?

    Like

  2. Wendy Walker August 27, 2014 at 10:50 am Reply

    Yes, you can use maple syrup. Grade A or B should be just fine. You could probably use molasses as well. You just want that thick consistency to react with the sugar to make it sticky to mix with the dry ingredients. Enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

