Shhh, A Little Secret Ingredient

Is there one thing in your kitchen that you absolutely love?  Well, I have one!  It’s Vanilla.  I’m not talking about vanilla that you get at the grocery store.  I’m talking about the “good stuff”!!!!

I usually buy Watkins Pure Madagascar Extract, Trader Joe’s or Nielsen Massey Nielsen-Massey Real Vanillauntil…….

I started making my own and let me tell you how simple it is.  The worst part about it was I had to go to a liquor store and buy the bourbon.  I don’t drink, so I kept thinking, “What if I see someone I know, like my pastor”.  Well, I guess he might be embarrassed too as I might think he has a problem as well LOL.

10550920_10203808119797397_5360420410066745824_n

Seriously, there’s nothing wrong with going into a liquor store.  You might even find yourself ministering to someone in one of the aisles.  Anyway, I grabbed a bottle of some bourbon from Kentucky.  It said it was vintage, so that looked good to me!

You won’t go back to the regular vanilla you buy at the store.  You just won’t.  Make it one morning or evening, but don’t forget about it.  Try to put the jar in a cabinet that you at least go in once a week. 🙂

Homemade Vanilla

  • Servings: lots
  • Time: 2months
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients
6-8 Madagascar Organic Vanilla Beans

1 cup of Bourbon

DSC_0500

Directions

Pour Bourbon into a jar with a good sealing lid.  I use my Wide Mouth 20oz. Jar
pictured above.

Then, take each bean and cut it down the middle with a knife and scrape out the oh so good stuff aka vanilla beans.  This is where the magic comes from. Put the vanilla beans that you scraped off in the jar along with the entire bean.

DSC_0503

Put the lid on tightly and then get a sticky note and write the date that you made it.  You’ll thank yourself later so you can remember how long it needs to cure for LOL.  Put your jar in a dark cabinet and shake it about once a week.  In 2 months, it should be ready!  You can transfer to a small jar for easier storage and then give some away, if you want to. 😉

10489961_10203808119957401_1741063847802099507_n

This stuff is pure gold around my house!  It is my secret ingredient in all of my baking recipes. 😉

DSC_0504

~Happy Baking~

 

2 thoughts on “Shhh, A Little Secret Ingredient

  1. […] Salt 2 Teaspoons of Aluminum Free Baking Powder 2 Teaspoons of Homemade Bourbon Vanilla (Recipe HERE) 2 Eggs 1 Cup of Coconut Sugar 1 Stick of Unsalted Butter (softened) ½ Cup of Raw Milk (Crooked […]

    Like

  2. […] Salt 2 Teaspoons of Aluminum Free Baking Powder 2 Teaspoons of Homemade Bourbon Vanilla (Recipe HERE) 2 Eggs 1 Cup of Coconut Sugar 1 Stick of Unsalted Butter (softened) ½ Cup of Raw Milk (Crooked […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

