Who Wants to Be Like Esther?

I started a new reading plan this month.  I’m following Courtney Joseph over at Women Living Well.  I’ll be “Blogging through the Bible” with a different book in the bible each week.  I would love it if you would join me!  It’s not too late to get started…..

Blogging-through-bible-with-GMG-button-300x300

I’ll be posting on Fridays about the re-cap of the reading we had that week.  This week, we are reading the book of Esther.

 

When I think of Esther, I think of a beautiful young woman with lots of courage.  She was raised by her uncle Mordecai as her parents were deceased.

Prior to becoming queen, Esther had to undergo a year of preparations prior to her coronation (Esther 2:3, 12-13]. Esther underwent “a six-month treatment with oil of myrrh and six months with spices and ointments”. In ancient times, the average woman’s cosmetics were her anointing oil.  Esther bathed in this oil for twelve months before her presentation to the King.

Myrrh is still used today as an essential oil for immune system support and as an anti-inflammatory.

10668053_10204168744292784_1575069601_o

 

I have a cousin who is an actress who played Esther in the bible movie that was released on tv back in April of this year.  Her name is Jen Lilley and the director could not have picked a better person to play Esther.  You can read about her here.

normal_001

The book of Esther clearly demonstrates God’s love for his people even when they are in a foreign land far away from the land of their inheritance. Have you noticed that the name of God is never mentioned in the book of Esther, nor is there any mention of any kind of worship.  I wander why that is?

God knew that the Jews were going to be in trouble, so he used Esther to influence the king and save people’s lives.  Mordecai told Esther that if she kept silent, deliverance for the Jews would still come from God; however, Esther would perish.  Esther called a fast of food and drink for three days.  She was courageous and said “If I perish, I perish”.

How do you relate to Esther?  Have you ever had to put your life on hold to save someone else’s?  I believe God has called us to look out for others and just love one another (John 13:34).  Just like Esther, I am trusting God with my life and will fear no man at all!

I hope you will join me in my daily devotion.  Please share your comments or any prayer requests that you may have.

 

Here’s the reading plan for the rest of this week:

this-weeks-reading

 

Here’s the entire month of September’s reading plan:

SeptReadPlan1-819x1024

 

You can print it here!

 

Be blessed!

 

Wendy

 

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “Who Wants to Be Like Esther?

  1. […] I started a new reading plan this month on my other site – Little House Simple Living […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

