Grateful Time – For A Little While

Fellow blogger and author, Danielle Walker, recently released her new book – Against All Grain.

MEALS-MADE-SIMPLE-Cover-Slider2

 

I can’t wait to purchase this!  She’s doing a book tour right now, so I’m waiting to see if she plans on coming anywhere near Florida.  I’d love to meet her!  No, we aren’t related either (our last names are the same) LOL.  Wouldn’t that be funny if we were?

After being diagnosed with an autoimmune disease when she was 22 years old, Danielle realized that she needed to make dietary changes to end her suffering.  She removed grains, lactose, and legumes from her diet, and started her blog to help others suffering from similar ailments while continuing to enjoy food. With her acquired culinary skills, love for food, and an equal love for journalism, she has become a source of hope for others suffering from all types of diseases or allergies.

You can read her health story here.

 

Danielle and her husband recently have been impacted by a tragic loss – the loss of their baby girl. At Danielle’s 20-week ultrasound, she was told that her baby, Aila, had severe growth defects and potentially a life-threatening form of a skeletal disorder.  They were told the unfathomable news that Aila had what’s called lethal osteogenesis imperfecta, known as OI Type II — a genetic mutation that causes a lack of collagen in the bones so they do not grow properly and break over and over again in the womb.

 

Maternity1-2

 

Photo by Jennifer Skog

 

1D274906734478-today-aila-baby-140826-03.blocks_desktop_small

 

Photo by Abby Alger / Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep

 

You can read more about Aila’s story here.

Please keep Danielle and her family in your prayers.  They need comfort and wisdom and understanding.  Just knowing that we have a God in heaven that will guide them is enough to help them get through each day!

I’m sure there are so many women who have suffered through the same thing.  I have several friends who have at both pregnancy and at other times when they’ve become a little older.  It’s never easy, no matter how old your children are.

Most of you know me for my photography and Danielle chose to have photos taken from a professional photographer at “Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep”.  I’m thinking of applying.  Photographers capture memories and what better way to have a lasting memory of your baby!  I’m just afraid I would lose it and start crying as soon as I walked in the room.  I’ll pray about it and see where God directs me.

From my family to yours – I pray for peace and understanding and comfort for you and your family!

Blessings!

Leave a Reply

