Do You Spoil Your Chickens?

DSC_0715

 

Seriously, who spoils their chickens?  Well, when we decided to start raising chickens, the first thing that came to my mind was how cute I could decorate the coop!  It’s their home and I wanted it to look pretty. I wander sometimes if they know just how spoiled they are?

DSC_0731

One day when I was at my usual health food store shopping for my family, I started looking at the seeds and beans and thought “These would be healthy for Rusty and the girls” (AKA chickens), uhm….

 

DSC_0706

What I purchased above is green and yellow lentils and barley.  The total cost came to $5.00 and they are all organic.  Do you know much about lentils?  They have amazing health benefits.  Lentils are loaded with fiber, protein, potassium, zinc, B Vitamins, iron and magnesium.

DSC_0704

So, I placed some in a bowl and filled it with water and placed a towel on it.  I let this set overnight.

DSC_0707

Soaking beans, nuts, seeds and grains assist with digestion and give us great enzymes.  When eaten straight out of the bag, it wreaks havoc on our digestive system.

DSC_0708

After they sit overnight, place them in glass mason jars and put them in the fridge.  Now, every time you go out to the coop, take a jar and sprinkle in your chicks feeder.

DSC_0709

I’ll talk about sprouting them in another post and I’ll share with you a recipe for some “treats” for your chicks. Just think about how much healthier your eggs and chickens will be! 🙂

DSC_0718

See, I told you I spoiled my chickens!

Find me and other great homesteaders over at the Following:

downhome blog hop

simplelifebloghop1

The Chicken Chick

Have a great day!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

See, I told you I spoil my flock!

 

Tagged: , ,

5 thoughts on “Do You Spoil Your Chickens?

  1. Liz September 20, 2014 at 2:57 pm Reply

    We just built are coop and run. Just waiting until spring to get some chicks. I sit and think of all the cute things I can add around that space. My hubby just rolls his eyes! lol…

    Like

  2. Wendy September 24, 2014 at 1:51 pm Reply

    Liz, I’m so glad I’m not the only one! LOL I tell my hubby that the girls have to have a nice home to live in!

    Like

  3. Tracy @ OurSimpleHomestead September 29, 2014 at 12:34 pm Reply

    I am guilty! I spoil our chickens…they wait every morning at the back door for a morning cracker treat.

    Like

    • Wendy Walker September 29, 2014 at 3:45 pm Reply

      Yes, Tracy! I think all of us chicken lovers spoil our flock, well, I think we should LOL!

      Like

  4. […] A few years ago, I came up with a homemade yummy treat recipe and gave it to them if they were good LOL.  You can read about it HERE. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

