SPICE DRAWER ORGANIZATION 101

Where do you store your spices? Well, I have a nice spice drawer, so you’d think I’d be all organized, right?

www.littlehousesimpleliving.com (2)
Well, I am OCD like that, but it’s gotten out of hand lately so I thought I’d give it a nice sprucing up!

I buy my spices from several different places just for the mere fact of pricing and quality of the product. I’ve always alphabetized mine (I know, I’m OCD), but I need to get better at keeping them organized and going through them to check their expiration dates.

So, last night I pulled everything out, cleaned out the cabinet and started over. I emptied any of the jars that were expired and saved the bottle if it was glass and had an easy removable label (Hint: Trader Joe’s labels are so easy to come off). I filled up my sink with hot soapy water and put all the empty jars in there so I could clean and disinfect them.

The cute little bags that you see in the picture come from The Fresh Market. I usually just have them leaning against each other (still alphabetized), but it’s just not working for me.
I filled all the jars from the little spice bags and then I created labels ( I used the removable labels – Avery 5160).

I have three shelves on my spice cabinet, so I thought I would organize by category this go around. The top shelf is going to have all of my everyday spices – dill, cinnamon, turmeric, etc. The middle shelf will have my blends – Chicken, Steak, Taco Seasoning (I make my own), etc. Finally, the bottom shelf will hold my jars of things that I use occasionally in cooking but don’t want to get my BIG jars down. I have a little jar for my coconut sugar, flour, baking soda, etc. Do you do this to? It makes it easy if I’m making a roux or need a little bit of sugar to put in my homemade spaghetti sauce. I’ll post recipes on how to do both of these at another time. 🙂

DSC_0011

DSC_0010

So, here is my finished cabinet. They aren’t all matchy matchy yet. I figured this a start. I’m not sure yet it I want to go all glass bottles or the cute round tins. I like both of those looks, so I will probably stick with both of them and buy new ones here and there as I can afford them.

DSC_0008

One other important thing I do, just to make my life simple and complete – I write down all of my spices and their expiration dates, so when I’m doing my weekly menu planning, I can see if I am running low and might need to purchase some.  Remember my Household Binder I created the first part of the year?  You can read all about it HERE.

DSC_0013
The goal here is that they are organized. Now, you go re-do yours and either post your pics on my Facebook page or reply back here in the comments below.

Happy Organizing!!!!

Wendy

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

