HOW TO MAKE HOMEMADE MAC ‘N CHEESE

Add subtitle text

THERE’S NOTHING LIKE THE TASTE OF CREAMY MAC ‘N CHEESE ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU ARE IN NEED OF SOME GOOD ‘OLE COMFORT FOOD, RIGHT?

I’m going to let you in on my little secret on how you can have it on the table in less than 20 minutes and guess what?  And, it’s made from SCRATCH!

I have to admit many many years ago, like 10 or 12, I use to buy the boxed kind like Velveeta or Kraft Mac ‘N Cheese (What was I thinking, eeww?) because it was easy, the commercial made it look so exciting and I could get it on the table in less than 5 minutes!  Why did no one share with me back then that homemade was so much better for you?

Making it homemade tastes so much better and is healthier for you!  It’s rather quite simple to make and if you just plan a few extra minutes you can have homemade mac ‘n cheese anytime of the day!

I have two teenagers and they still want me to make it for them – for lunch, as a side with dinner or even just a snack.  Btw, have heard recently about the recall on Kraft Macaroni & Cheese?  And what’s in that packet of powder anyways?  You can read all about the recall HERE.  Compare their ingredients to my recipe below:

kraft_dinner_packages-scaled10002

OK, so are you ready to try homemade?

Homemade Mac 'N Cheese

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 20mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

1/2 lb. elbow macaroni ( I often use bow tie or penne as well)
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons flour (make sure it’s unbleached/unbromated)
1/4 – 1/2 cup of Organic or Raw Heavy Cream
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cups grated cheddar cheese (or a mixture of your favorites)

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add the pasta and cook until tender (about 10 minutes). Drain and set aside.

Heat the butter in a large sauce pan over medium-high heat. When it starts to bubble, whisk in the flour. This is called making a ROUX. Mixture will thicken considerably. Turn heat to medium and slowly whisk in the cream. When cream mixture is thick and creamy, turn off the heat, add the salt and cheese, and toss with the pasta.

That’s it my friends!  Post your pics here or on my Facebook Page and share with me your creation of homemade mac ‘n cheese!

Happy Cooking!

Blog Pic

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

