Happy New Year and Our New Addition

Happy New Year!  I hope you and your family had a wonderfully blessed filled holiday season.  It went too quick, didn’t it?

My family and I had a wonderful time.  Baking, decorating ornaments, eating, hanging out and getting a new puppy! When my hubby Bill told me he was bringing home a new puppy, “I was like, what?”  How much is he going to cost and what about Boone?  He’s our almost four year old Australian Cattle dog.  I didn’t want him at first either.

DSC_2254

The “Pistols” begging for the new treats!

Well, needless to say, my hubby brought home the little puppy as he was given to him from one of his customers.  How could he say no? He’s a pure bread Black Lab.  He really is kinda cute.

I made sure I voiced my stance on taking care of him.  I’m too busy and don’t have time to care of a puppy is what I said.  I was also worried that he wouldn’t be accepted from Boone.  This is Boone’s house and he can get a little aggressive if he doesn’t know you.  Well, that didn’t happen.  It took about a week, but Boone and him are now little buddies!

I guess we settled on the name Duke.  I really like Tucker, but the majority wins.  I will just secretly call him Tucker LOL.

MAKE

So, what are puppies known for?  You guessed it…chewing.  It’s time to get creative.  I have been buying treats for Boone for a few years and boy does he have to work for it.  Duke is just not there yet and every time I go to give him a treat, he just grabs and eats my hand practically.  I also noticed that he’s having a hard time chewing them.  That got me thinking.

So, this morning I decided to make dog treats.  Yep, from scratch.  I only want to put the best ingredients in their bodies as well.

DSC_2223

I used a “Heart” cookie cutter, but you could use whatever you like 🙂

As soon as they came out of the oven, it’s like they knew and were both sitting and wagging waiting for one.  I’ve come to the conclusion that these two are pistols.  They really are.  Sweet pistols though if you know what I mean.

Here’s the recipe if you would like to make some of your own.

Organic Dog Treats

  • Servings: Varies
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:
-3 cups of flour ( I use my fresh milled flour that I make yummy bread products with. Hey, they deserve the vitamins and minerals just like we do.  )
– 2 eggs
– 1 can of Organic Pumpkin
– 2 Tablespoons of NON-GMO Peanut Butter
½ teaspoon of sea salt
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
1 teaspoon of ground flax meal
1 teaspoon of chia seeds

Directions:

Mix ingredients together. Roll the dough out onto a solid surface about a ½ inch thick. Then use a cute cookie cutter and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes. Should be slightly soft but crunchy. Store in a clear Mason jar or other clear container. If you are using fresh milled flour, these will last about a week. Otherwise, you could keep them in the freezer or refrigerator, which will make them last longer.

DSC_2224

The finished product!  They smell so yummy!

DSC_2244

Now fill the jar and watch them disappear!

I hope you enjoy making these.  From our critters to yours!

Many blessings to you in 2016!!!

Blog Pic

Wendy

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

