A Soldier Indeed

I’ve been a little “MIA” for a while and I wanted to share why.  My dad has been quite sick for the past few years.  He was diagnosed with Agent Orange related Congestive Heart Failure about eight years ago, COPD, PTSD and failing lungs.  He was a proud Vietnam Veteran and loved his country!  He served in two tours in Vietnam and spent a total of 20 years in the US Army.

SCAN015612193484_925247637550339_2315166578961965480_n

On top of all of his illnesses, my dad was an alcoholic.  I remember as a child how alcohol effected him.  It’s a wicked illness and the alcoholic doesn’t know how to get out.

The past couple of years have been rough.  My parents divorced after 45 years of marriage. See what alcohol does? My dad re-married four years ago and it’s just been so tough trying to warm up to his new wife.  Do you know what I’m saying?

I used to be able to spend all kinds of time with my dad but ever since he re-married, we have to schedule visits and well, it’s just different.  This is me and my hubby with my dad about five years ago, just when he started to get sick.

_DSC0253

Let’s fast forward to 2016.  It is now the 2nd week of January and my dad was in the hospital.  Hospitals became a frequency of ours with dad, but this time was different.  He wasn’t coming home.  My dad’s lungs were failing.  My sister, daughter, niece and I watched him take his last breath.  He passed away on January 24th, just five days before his birthday.  He would have been 69.  It still blows my mind that he was so young.

DSC_3095

It still seems like a blur and I’m trying to get back on track and into my normal routine, but it’s still hard.  RIP Daddy, I miss you!  I’m thankful for God’s love and that dad isn’t suffering anymore.

Ok, so……let me wipe my tears and share something happy now.  I’ve got some “good news” but I’ll be revealing it in another post.  Don’t be mad……Oh, alright, I will give you a hint……

image2.jpeg

Until then…..have a wonderful evening!

Wendy

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

