Batman – Gift Idea For My Nephew

Coloring T-Shirt Tutorial

Who doesn’t like Batman?  Well, I guess Superman, right?

My nephew was having his birthday party last Saturday and he was turning the Big “6”! So, I usually like to do a themed gift but I this time I didn’t want to go and buy something.  I’ve done framed portraits before, but I wanted it to be really cool!

Well, I asked his mom what he was in to and she said Batman.  Well, that’s what I was thinking of doing for him.  I thought about a custom pallet sign he could hang in his room but then I though, he’s only turning six and he probably wouldn’t appreciate it as much as this cute shirt I made him!

IMG_5402    IMG_5403

It actually was so easy to make once I figured out what I wanted on it.  I knew I wanted Batman something and my nephew’s name on it.  So, I went to my private FB group where I get inspiration and asked some of my peers what they thought would be cool.  One girl suggested doing a coloring shirt.  I looked at it and came up with this one!

IMG_5400

Here’s how I made it:

 

Supplies Needed:

T-shirt of any color

A Heat Transfer Vinyl Stencil ( you can make one yourself or have one made for you).  I used my Silhouette machine to make mine.

Fabric Markers

 

Directions:

  1. Pre-wash t-shirt or buy one that is already done like that.
  2. Place stencil on t-shirt where you want it to be placed.  I took my tape measure and measured the center and sides and made sure it was straight.
  3. Turn your iron on and let it get real hot.  Then, go grab a piece of fabric and lay on top of the stencil.  Press down with the hot iron.  Keep working around all the different corners, making sure all the stencil gets placed on the t-shirt.  If you have a heat press, then that would work even better.  For now, the iron I will use!
  4. After you the pull the iron off from the t-shirt, make sure all the stencil is secured and there are no pieces that are NOT attached to the t-shirt.  If some of the stencil didn’t get adhered, just put your piece of fabric back on and move that hot iron around until it’s totally adhered to the t-shirt.
  5. Next, look at it and smile!  You made a cool custom to-shirt!!
  6. You can now wrap it in some cute tissue and simple wrapping paper.  I used a fun primary color tissue paper to match the markers and then wrapped it in brown kraft paper and tied it with a twine bow.  Don’t forget to put the markers in the box and a note with directions. 🙂

 

IMG_5399

If you’ve ever made a coloring t-shirt, I would love to see it!  Please comment here or you can post them on my Facebook page Here .

Until next time!

memysignature

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

