It’s Blueberry Pickin’ Time

Now that fair is over, I’ve been anxiously awaiting for the sign to go up for my friend Melanie’s, Sand Hill Blueberry Farm.  There is nothing like the taste of fresh picked blueberries.  Really, the store ones do not compare.

DSC_4994.JPG

So, my friend Michelle and I went today and had a blast.  She has an adorable 12 year old son and two more adorable twins, boy and girl.  How lucky is she?  I babysit my pastor’s daughter on Thursdays so I brought her along as well.  The kids had so much fun!  If only we could keep them from eating the blueberries (sorry, Melanie).  We ended up having a picnic lunch and then headed home to give the little ones their naps.

Prior to going pickin’, I already had in mind I wanted to make muffins this afternoon when I got home.

So, that is what I did.  I had several recipes, but being the “rule breaker” that I am (not in a bad way ha), I combined a few recipes I had and made it my own.  I love doing this because I can make adjustments to how my family likes things.

 

So, would you like my recipe?  Of course, I’m going to give it to you!

From Scratch Blueberry Muffins

  • Time: 30mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:
2 Cups of Fresh Milled Flour ( I used Soft White)
1 Teaspoons of Himalayan Salt
2 Teaspoons of Aluminum Free Baking Powder
2 Teaspoons of Homemade Bourbon Vanilla (Recipe HERE)
2 Eggs
1 Cup of Coconut Sugar
1 Stick of Unsalted Butter (softened)
½ Cup of Raw Milk (Crooked Oak Farm)
3 Cups of Fresh Picked Blueberries (Sand Hill Blueberries)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 and line your muffin pans. I used eco-friendly liners from The Fresh Market.
In a large bowl or if you are using your Kitchenaid Mixer, beat the butter until it’s all nice and smooth. Add in the sugar and blend together. Next, add eggs, one at a time and then the vanilla, baking powder and salt.
Gradually add the flour and the milk at the same time. Try not to let it splatter everywhere like it did to me! Mix on medium speed until it’s all creamy.
Finally, coat the blueberries with a tablespoon or so of flour. This helps them stay all nice and firm. Now, fold them into the batter with a spatula.
Fill the muffin liners and bake for 15-20 minutes. I have a convection oven and mine took 20 minutes to bake.
Let cool just a little bit, open one up, put a sliver of butter and enjoy!!

So, do you ever go blueberry pickin’? What do you make with all of your blueberries?  Stay tuned for more recipes!!!

 

me

mysignature

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

