What To Do With Fresh Picked Peaches

What do you do

 

So, have you heard of the best kept secret in Lake County?  I’ll give you a little hint…..

It’s orange and they grow on trees!  No, silly, it’s not oranges….it’s peaches!  Georgia peaches have got nothing on these peaches that are grown right here in Umatilla.  I went to Graham’s U-Pick Peaches located at 14803 Lake Yale Road in Umatilla. So, if you live in the south, you know a good peach when you taste one!

So, Saturday morning, my sister, mom and niece decided to head out and pick some peaches.  I ended up picking around 24 lbs.  These are the BEST tasting peaches ever!  I’m seriously saying that you pick them right off the tree and they are so juicy!

FullSizeRender (2)

They are nearing the end of the season…..it’s a very short season, like only the entire month of May.  Here’s how it works:  When you get there, go up to the tent where you will be greeted by some of the friendliest folk here in town.  They have a few different size baskets you can take and fill them with as many peaches as it will fit.  You might have some overflowing and the basket might get a little heavy, so they have some carts you can put your baskets in to make it easier for you.

They also sell local honey and blueberries.  Call or check their Facebook Page before heading out there just to make sure they have availability.  I guess word has gotten out and the peaches are almost picked!

Oh, and be sure and tell Mary I sent you.  Word on the street is that her husband is the “Peach Whisperer”.  I can vouch for that cause they are the sweetest and juiciest peaches I’ve ever had.  Their phone # is 352-636-3821.  They are open today, Memorial Day from 9am-4pm.

Now, what to do with them…….

I brought mine home and cut up 7 quart sized ziplock bags and stuck them in the freezer. They will make for good peach cobbler, smoothies, peach pecan ice cream, peach salsa, peach jam and oh my goodness, peach anything!  I even love grilled peaches!

You can even “can” them.  Click HERE for the recipe on how to can peaches. Watch this video on how to dehydrate them too.  And the last thing you can do with peaches, is just eat them LOL.  I saved about 20 peaches and put them in my crisper drawer in the fridge for us to snack on over the week.

P.S. Check out Graham’s U-Pick Facebook Page – they used my pretty filled basket of peaches in their flyer!

Blessings,

mysignature

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “What To Do With Fresh Picked Peaches

  1. […] recently went Peach Pickin’ at a local farm and had a blast!  You can read all about it HERE.  After I started chopping up those peaches for the freezer, I thought to myself, “Wouldn’t […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

