Refreshing Sweet Peach Tea

halfway

Now that blueberry season has come to an end, peach season here in the south is in full swing.  Sweet tea is a staple here in Florida.  Really, it is.  The only thing I do not like about it is the processed chemical sugar that they use in restaurants.  Now that I am older and wiser, I have removed conventional sugar from our diet.  I now sweeten with raw honey or coconut sugar.  I’ve even used Stevia too.

There’s just something about having tea sweet.  I mean who orders tea or makes tea at home (except herbal kinds) without it being sweet.  That’s just not right!

I recently went Peach Pickin’ at a local farm and had a blast!  You can read all about it HERE.  After I started chopping up those peaches for the freezer, I thought to myself, “Wouldn’t some of those peaches be good in my tea”.  Well, it sure is good and let me tell you…they are so sweet and juicy you don’t even need sugar.  You heard it right.  I’m drinking sweet peach tea without the sugar LOL.

FullSizeRender (3)

I can only vouch for these that I picked at my local farm. If you don’t have access to one, then try the ones at the store.  Ask the produce manager where they were grown.  If they are close to your town, then go for it.

 

So here’s my yummy refreshing Sweet Peach Tea recipe….

Refreshing Sweet Peach Tea

  • Servings: 4-8
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

2-3 ripe fresh picked peaches

3 Family size Lipton (this is the best, well, we think so) Tea bags

4 cups of water

½ gallon mason jar

 

Directions:

Boil water and place the tea bags in a bowl.  Cover and let steep for 30 minutes.  Add your peaches to the Mason jar and then pour the steeped tea over them.  Fill the rest of the jar with water. Tighten the lid and sit it outside on your fence post or back porch for an hour or so.  Then, grab you a pint size mason jar with some ice and pour the tea in your glass.  It is so sweet! When you get down to the bottom of the glass, don’t forget to eat those peaches too! Enjoy!

 FullSizeRender (8)

P.S. If you are going to use one of the sweeteners I recommended above, add about 1/3 cup to the tea while it’s steeping.  This will allow it to dissolve and blend well with the tea.

You can also enjoy that glass of sweet peach tea on one of my Mason jar lid coasters.  Aren’t these the cutest?

 

 

In an effort to create healthy meals for my family, drinks need to be considered as well.  This is really a refreshing naturally sweet drink to enjoy on a hot summer day or at a family picnic.

 

Blessings!

mysignature

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

