Using What You Have

USING

Sometimes things just don’t work out.  Especially in the garden.  All the years I have been gardening, I have yet to find a cage/trellis/thing a ma jig or anything that will work for my tomatoes.  I LOVE tomatoes and always plant several varieties.  They start growing and then basically take over their space!

Well, I am excited that this year I am trying a few new things that I think are going to work out pretty nicely.  As I was planting this spring, I spaced my tomato plants far enough apart but I forgot which variety I planted so I guess I will have a surprise when they start growing LOL.

In my search to build the perfect “cage” so to speak, I walked out back of our shop to see what I could find.  I always use stuff laying around here before I go out and buy something. Being in construction, we are always have something I can use LOL.  And, I don’t like being wasteful.

I found two pieces of re bar and I used mason twine, which is much stronger than your normal twine.  I already had an old chain link gate that I started training one of my tomato plants but I knew it wouldn’t be enough.  So, I pounded the re bar in the ground in front of the tomato plant and then wrapped the twine around and staggering it every 4 inches.  This one will work out good cause as the tomatoes grow, I will just hang them on the twine.

The other tomato plant, I set two fence posts the length of my garden bed and then just tied the twine and staggered it.  As this one grows, I can train it to go through the twine and then hang the tomatoes as they grow.  I am so excited and so glad I’m not frustrated this year with my tomatoes!

Now that I have my trellises made, I have to tell you that I have never been able to grow tomatoes in the month of June before.  It’s just way too hot here in Florida.  This year is different since trying the Back to Eden Gardening method.  I am truly amazed at how planting God’s way has made a difference in how my garden grows.If you get a chance, check out their video on how it all works.

What types of things do you use for trellises or cages?  Do you use things around your property or have you found something in a store that’s truly amazing?  I’d love to hear either in an email, comment below or on my Facebook page.

 

Blessings!

mysignature

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

