Make Your Own Hamburger Buns

MAKE YOUR OWN.png

There’s nothing like a big juicy burger, right?  I like mine with bacon, provolone cheese, avocado slices, lettuce, tomato and some mkm (aka mustard, ketchup, mayo)……oh, and of course a bun.  But I couldn’t have the bun for about three years due to my gluten intolerance.  I used to get this “chicken skin” on my elbows every time I would eat store bought or restaurant bread.  I started doing some research on where flour came from and found out that the problem is not with the gluten, but with the way the millers were removing all the vital ingredients (and adding bad stuff) from our flour just so it would stay fresh.

I was bound and determined to eat bread.  Like, who doesn’t love bread?  I can let go of the pasta and the refined sugar for sure.  But, I can’t live without bread.

I found this Co-Op and ordered some grains.  I didn’t even have a grain mill but I was going to grind my own flout and provide a delicious loaf of bread for my family.

I ended up going to my friends house to grind my first batch.  I came home and made the bread.  It was the most delicious bread I’d ever had.  Seriously, it was.

I started eating bread more often and my “chicken skin” started to go away.  Uhhm, maybe I’m on to something here.  I honestly feel better when I eat the bread.  No bloat, no itchiness like with the other kind of bread either. Read

HERE for more on grinding your own flour.

img_8173

After making loaf bread, I thought to myself, ” I wonder what else I can make?”  I had become used to eating pretty much anything without bread or a bun.  Man, I really missed having a bun on a burger or a sloppy joe.

So, I did some research ( can you tell I like to research things?) and found this cool pan to make hamburger buns.  I only bought one so a cookie sheet will suffice for now. Yeah, baby!

They aren’t perfect in shape like you would buy store bought, factory made with a perfect machine buns, but they got the seal of approval from my family and that’s what is important to me.  Besides, knowing that they are healthy for us is what really matters. I’m feeding my family good nutrition.

Here’s my recipe.  I’d love to see how yours turn out.  I like using Hard White wheat but you can easily use Hard Red for a nuttier flavor.

Whole Wheat Hamburger Buns

  • Servings: 12
  • Time: Total: 3 hrs
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

This is a basic dough recipe.  You can use it to make sandwich/loaf bread, rolls & hamburger/hot dog buns.

Ingredients:

1 ½ cups of hot water                                                2 tsp. pink Himalayan salt

1/3 cup of olive or coconut oil                                   2 tbsp. Flaxseed Meal           

1/3 cup of raw local honey                                         1 tbsp. instant yeast

4-4 ½ cups of freshly milled Hard White flour

 

Directions:

Combine water, oil, honey, salt and flax-seed meal. Add half the flour and mix thoroughly. Add yeast and enough flour to make a soft dough.  Knead until smooth and elastic (about 5-6 minutes).  Cover with plastic and let rise until double. Now, shape into 12 balls on greased cookie sheets, cover and let rise again. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes. Enjoy!

Tag me on Instagram with your photos – @lhsimpleliving

I love to share and see what others are doing in our efforts to have healthy families.  Enjoy your buns LOL and have a wonderful day!

mysignature

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

