From Trash to Treasure in the Minivan

I’m back from my trip to North Carolina and boy, am I glad to be home! Don’t get me wrong….I absolutely love going to visit my family and I’d probably move there if I could, but when you leave and you’re driving on the interstate and you finally get home and back in your groove, it just feels good.

minivan

Ok, so let’s re-cap from where I left off. You can read last week’s post here.  I got up to Jacksonville safely with my charged battery and walked into the car rental place. When I pulled in, they had Tahoe’s. My husband really wanted me to drive one as he thinks we are going to buy one some day LOL. He said that renting it would give me an idea if I would like it or not. Ok, he’s right ha ha. I asked the guy if I could get the Tahoe since they had two sitting on the lot. He said, “Sure.” I handed him my debit card and he said that I can only go up to a mini-van if I use a debit card. Well, we strive to live debt free and do not have a credit card.  So, I guess I’m driving the mini-van after-all.  They told me that I’d have much more room to bring stuff back than the Tahoe anyway. Score!

I get to North Carolina on Friday afternoon and I got straight to work.  I told my family to get tables out while I started organizing piles within the same categories. In the midst of doing this, my family said take anything I want. Really? No, I can’t do that. They are trying to make some money so I’m here to help them sell. Stay focused Wendy. I started pricing everything accordingly and then my family said, “Are you sure you don’t want this?” as they show me a bunch of garden tools, a scroll saw, an old wooden sled and so much more. If they didn’t sell, they were just going to take it to the local thrift store. I said, “Let me think about it.” As the night went on, I started adding a few items. Next thing I knew, I had a ton of stuff to fill my mini-van with LOL.

IMG_9662Saturday came and we had an amazing yard sale. Pretty much everything sold except some Christmas items and a few other odds and ends. (What actually is an odd and an end???)  I guess it’s just too hot to think about decorations. We were sweaty and tired but we hung in there. Kind of reminds of that song by Survivor…..Face to Face, out in the heat, hangin’ tough, stayin’ hungry….the Eye of the Tiger. Oh yeah!

My family kept saying, “Please take this or that”. We can’t take it to Texas (where they are moving to). I can’t believe all of the treasures I brought home with me. Let me tell you. That mini-van was such a blessing. There is no way that I could have gotten everything in the Tahoe so in hindsight, this was the way to go. I packed it so efficient too. I came home with these two beautiful white rockers that are going to look amazing on my future front porch. I packed boxes tightly in every nook and corner, making sure nothing gets loose while I’m driving. I also received a plow and sickle that are over 100 years old as well as two ladder-back chairs that were my great grandparents. What gifts and items that I will treasure forever!

“I learned that sometimes what looks like trash is actually treasure. And that God doesn’t make junk.” I love this quote from KariAnne Wood’s new book I’ve been reviewing for the past six weeks. I just finished up Chapter 6  and it is no coincidence that every week, the chapter resonates with what is going on in my life right then and there.

You can pre-order her book and I know you are going to love it! I can’t wait to get my hard copy. Ooh, I almost forgot! Save the Date for September 5th as I’m going to be doing a Launch Party and will be going Live on my Facebook page.  It’s going to be so much fun! I hope you’ll join me!!

20229223_10155477907477145_2019701568709282429_n

Have a great weekend!

mysignature

Tagged: , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “From Trash to Treasure in the Minivan

  1. not a trophy wife August 21, 2017 at 9:31 am Reply

    Hi Wendy! Love this! Here’s to supporting women who are #soclosetoamazing! have a great week! laura

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wendy Walker August 21, 2017 at 10:56 am Reply

    Thank you Laura! I’m glad we are all in this together!!! Happy Monday!!!

    Like

  3. Melissa August 21, 2017 at 10:55 pm Reply

    I love your story. And I love that pic of you packed to the brim in the mini van that was meant to be! Great post and I’m happy to have been along this journey with you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

