Under cooked Cornbread and new friends

I’ll never forget the time that we moved to our cute little town in the country. It was 2006. I loved this place! But I was missing something. My husband worked all day and I spent time with my two kids. Don’t get me wrong, we had a great time playing and learning all kinds of fun things. Something was missing. I needed people other than the four of us, like friends. I was new here and didn’t know a soul.

chapter8

About a year after we moved here, I got settled and got the nerve to go to our local community club for their annual meeting and potluck. I was so excited that I got to cook for someone other than my family and maybe I might see a friendly face there. I started my cornbread around 5:30 and made it just as usual.  Because I wasn’t sure how large of a crowd there was going to be, I cooked it in a 9×13 tin foil pan and figured I’d cut it into squares. After preparing it, I put it in the oven and let it cook like normal time, pulled it out and wrapped it in foil.

When we got to the club, I was so nervous and when we got out, everyone said hi to us and I thought to myself, “This is going to be such a fun place.” We went in and introduced ourselves and grabbed a seat at one of the tables. The president then called everyone into the kitchen so we could say the blessing and dig in. A real nice lady had taken my cornbread to the kitchen so she could cut them into squares to make it easier for people to grab.

19510215_1910131005929297_395551996602552545_n

I was so excited for everyone to taste my cornbread. I wondered if people ate it like we did. I was in line to fix our plate, and that same nice lady came out and told me my cornbread wasn’t done. “What do you mean it wasn’t done?” I asked her. I cooked it just like normal. But, wait a minute…..I just remembered I doubled the recipe and forgot to double the time to cook it. Really? How could I forget that. It was supposed to be amazing or so I thought. The lady was so sweet and just laughed and said, “It happens.”

So, needless to say, no one really got to taste my amazing cornbread but I did end up walking out of there with a few friends that night.

Let’s fast forward to today…..I have some of the most amazing friends now and I owe it all to God for nudging me to go to a meeting at the club. I love this little club I am a member of. I served as treasurer for three years and as a board member.

So, here is my update for Chapter 8 this week in KariAnne Wood’s new book “So Close to Amazing”. Just like me, KariAnne wanted to make friends and joined a garden club and brought an under-cooked roast to the meeting. Can you imagine the laughs at her meeting too?? I can’t wait for you to read the rest of the chapter when the book comes out.

Speaking of the book release, I have some exciting news for you! KariAnne is offering some pretty sweet goodies if you order her new book before September 4, 2017. Check  it out! You can pre-order HERE.

BUT THAT’S NOT ALL!
Pre-order bonuses also include:

A FREE set of downloadable planning printables from Just a Girl and Her Blog
80% discount off a Lightroom Essentials Class from UnSkinny Boppy
25% discount off my Painted Fox collection
A FREE set of Paris graphics from The Graphics Fairy
A 50% discount for a brand-new handlettering class with Jocie from One Project Closer

How cool is this? You get all of these amazing goodies just for pre-ordering her new book, So Close to Amazing.

I have to tell you, I am one of the hosts for the Pre-Launch Party, so yay, you can party with me. More details to come…..

19875165_10155441195487145_5689749823472799695_n

Have an amazing week!!

mysignature

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Under cooked Cornbread and new friends

  1. […] be available on September 5, 2017. Pre-order HERE by September 4, 2017 and you can receive some amazing prizes included with your […]

    Like

  2. Stacey August 22, 2017 at 9:08 pm Reply

    Loved your story Wendy! We’ve all done something similar one time or another. Thank goodness we don’t have to be perfect!

    Like

Leave a Reply

